Performance Art

This project turned out so much better than my last one!

Doing anything in public causes me so much anxiety, so I wanted to do something public, but still be anonymous.  I thought and thought and thought…tossed around a few ideas with my mom, who vetoed most of them.  It finally hit me during class last tuesday what I should do.

I’ve been following the antics of Shia LeBeouf the past few months and his stuff cracks me up!  Some people in  L.A./Hollywood (including a few of my close friends) are all up in arms with what he’s been doing, thinking he’s making a fool of himself…Others, such as James Franco, are sticking up for him: http://www.nytimes.com/2014/02/20/opinion/james-franco-on-shia-labeoufs-recent-antics.html?_r=2

If you haven’t been paying attention, Shia showed up to an awards show in the fall looking like this:

IamNotFamousAnymore

Was it a publicity stunt?  Or was he really doing his own form of Performance Art?

I found a couple of things he posted online that details his thoughts on Performance Art and I liked what he had to say:

o-SHIA-LABEOUF-PERFORMANCE-ART-570 PerformanceArt

The week of Feb 9th, he had an art installment in L.A.  He rented a small office, frosted the window and door, and the sign out front said “#IAMSORRY”.  People enter the room only to see Shia sitting in a chair with the same bag over his head, not saying a word.

Yay!  That is totally something I could do!  It would be public, and I would still be anonymous!  No one would know who was under that bag, so it didn’t matter how red my face was.  I just needed to make a couple of changes to what my bag said…I tweeted my plans the night before, although not sure any of my 15 followers actually paid any attention.

Screen Shot 2014-02-24 at 9.58.38 PM

I “hired” a good friend as my photographer to document the performance and we headed down to 16th street mall on Sunday.  We set up a chair for me in a high traffic area to maximize my exposure.  I reluctantly put the bag over my head and she snapped a photo before hiding in the background to get candids of the crowds.

DSC_0261

DSC_0269

Debbie did awesome catching people’s faces and got a ton of photos, but for the interest in space, I’m only including the really good ones…

DSC_0264

This next guy cracked me up!  He came running out of a store with an ipad and asked if he could take my photo.  When I didn’t answer, he asked again, so I told him I wasn’t supposed to be talking and told him why.  He said he was an actor and understood.  He took about 12 pics of me and a few of us.  I made sure to smile for the camera… 🙂

DSC_0270

DSC_0271

DSC_0274

These two girls were the only ones that I think actually got what I was doing because the second they saw me, they couldn’t stop laughing.  As they passed me, the Mom said “I wonder if she lost a bet?”.  I was loving that the bag was covering my face.

DSC_0281

DSC_0285

All in all, I feel like this was a successful project…I’m honestly hoping the next one isn’t quite so public…I’m a photographer, I’m not used to being in the spotlight, I like being behind it.

Leave a comment